Rangers News · OHSAA Award Recipients

Congratulations to the following students and community member for being awarded one of the following 2019-2020 OHSAA awards. Great job Rangers!

Scholar Athlete Award:

This award is given to 1 senior girl and 1 senior boy.  To receive this award recipients must have received a minimum of 4 varsity letters in all combined sports and have the highest grade point average at the end of the first semester of their senior year.

This year’s recipients are:  Trent Lehman and Jacklyn Leffel

Archie Griffin Award:

This award is in honor of Archie Griffin, the 2-time Heisman trophy winner from The Ohio State University.  This is given to 1 girl and 1 boy athlete.  Criteria for this award includes displaying exemplary sportsmanship, ethics, and integrity.

This year’s recipients are: Caleb Lageman and Carly Fledderjohann

National Federation of High Schools:  National Award of Excellence

This award is given to 1 girl and 1 boy athlete who has exhibited qualities of good citizenship, good moral character, and good sportsmanship.  These two students are positive role models for others and encourage others to be as well.

This year’s recipients are: Sammy Anspach and Gretchen Dwenger

Courageous Student Award: 

This award is given to a student who has either overcome great adversity in a positive way, has gone above and beyond to assist a family member or friend, or has displayed tremendous courage against overwhelming odds.

This year’s recipient is:  Patrick Covert

Contribution and Service Award: 

This award is given to a community member that has shown great support for the athletic programs and for the school as a whole.

This year’s recipient is: Ms. Mindy Settlage.